← Back to search

FDIC AS RECEIVER FOR REPUBLIC FIRST BANK

Formerly REPUBLIC FIRST BANK

EIN 23-2479933 · TX · Insurance / Financial Services

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed6 brokers of record, 2021–2024As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.

This filing doesn't itemize broker compensation the way most peer employers do. That can be a clean fee arrangement — or pay baked into premium. Peer market rates for similar plans are below.

Employer-paid broker pay2024: Not reported2023 · analysis: Not reported2022: Not reported2021: $1,538

Benchmarked against: Insurance / Financial Services · 101–500 employees · same industry, in-state · n=133 employers

Peer disclosed broker cost: median $21.01 per participant per month · typical range $9.36–$42.67. This company's filings did not itemize an amount to place on that scale.

393

(2023)

Self-funded

Funding

Voluntary only

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2023)

—

Peer median $21.01 per participant per month

Employer-paid $0 benchmarked for 2023 · Voluntary $9,811 shown separately, compared by rate only

Showing 2023, the latest year with a complete peer group. A 2024 filing is on file and appears in broker history; it is not benchmarked yet.

Why 2023?

The figures above use 2023, the latest year we can compare with similar employers. A filing for 2024 is on file. 2024 reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000. That is too small to compare with other employers. 2024 broker pay on file so far totals $3,313 across all lines, about 66% less than the $9,811 for 2023. Rows for 2024 stay in the broker history and stay out of the headline and the peer comparison.

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: same region, similar covered lives. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Voluntary / worksite

18.7%

1,075 peer contracts — p25 14.5% · median 19.9% · p75 25.4%. This contract: 18.7%.

Peer median 19.9%

Within peer range

Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Dental, Vision, and Life are not on this filing as their own contracts, so there is no peer rate to show for them.

Where the $9,811 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilityApprenticeship / trainingSeverance

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers, including medical (health).

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Year:

The 2024 filing reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000. The analysis year is 2023, the latest year that is complete and benchmarked.

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Analysis year 2023 — the same year as the headline figure and per-participant rate above. The 2024 filing reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
Voluntary / worksitemulti-product: accident + hospital indemnityUnum Life Insurance Company of America18.7%1,075 peer contracts — p25 14.5% · median 19.9% · p75 25.4%. This contract: 18.7%.med 19.9%Within peer range
How the peer group for each line was built
  • Voluntary / worksite: n=1,075 contracts, Southwest, 101-500 covered lives

n = the number of peer contracts in that comparison group.

Everything in this table is from the 2023 filing. This contract is a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on bundled multi-line contracts, contracts with no premium reported, or Schedule C service-provider fees, none of which carry a comparable single-line rate. 2024 is not rated here. Its rows appear in Broker history above as filed — pick 2024 on the year chips there to see them.

Who funds this. Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. A rate on bundled multi-line premium is not comparable to a single-line rate, so bundled contracts are never given a peer position.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 501REPUBLIC BANK DBA REPUBLIC BANK HEALTH AND WELFARE BENEFIT PLAN0 participants (2024)
HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilityApprenticeship / trainingSeveranceSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file3
Lead broker continuitySingle year on file
Broker setup5 brokers in 20236 across all years
Peer benchmarkInsurance / Financial Servicesn=133 · state peers

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Insurance / Financial Services, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Texas employer health plans · Insurance / Financial Services plans in Texas · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Analysis year: 2023; newest plan year with a filing on file: 2024. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.