← Back to search

AUDUBON AREA COMMUNITY SERVICES, INC.

EIN 23-7364935 · KY · Other

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed16 brokers of record, 2021–2025As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.

This filing doesn't itemize broker compensation the way most peer employers do. That can be a clean fee arrangement — or pay baked into premium. Peer market rates for similar plans are below.

Employer-paid broker pay2025: Not reported2024 · analysis: Not reported2023: $41,8632022: $45,5322021: $49,836

Benchmarked against: Other · 501–2,500 employees · same industry, regional · n=87 employers

Peer disclosed broker cost: median $19.24 per participant per month · typical range $13.15–$26.29. This company's filings did not itemize an amount to place on that scale.

Your exact in-state peer group was below the 10-plan minimum, so the comparison broadens to same industry, regional within Other.

588

(2024)

Fully insured

Funding

Voluntary only

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2024)

—

Peer median $19.24 per participant per month

Employer-paid $0 benchmarked for 2024 · Voluntary $45,375 shown separately, compared by rate only · $142,963 shown as filed, excluded as a likely filing error

Why excluded?

1 broker compensation line totaling $142,963 on the Form 5500 appears to be filing errors (a commission above 100% of the premium reported on that contract, or pay above $200 per participant per month or $50,000,000 on one line). We verified these amounts against the DOL EFAST publication — they are as filed by the plan sponsor, not an Unbrokered ingest error. Those lines are shown as filed and excluded from peer benchmarks and headline PEPM.

Showing 2024, the latest year with a complete peer group. A 2025 filing is on file and appears in broker history; it is not benchmarked yet.

Why 2024?

The figures above use 2024, the latest year we can compare with similar employers. A filing for 2025 is on file. Most employers have not filed for 2025 yet, so there is no complete peer group to compare it with. Rows for 2025 stay in the broker history and stay out of the headline and the peer comparison.

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: same region, similar covered lives. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Voluntary / worksite

39.0%

3,165 peer contracts — p25 14.4% · median 19.7% · p75 25.2%. This contract: 39.0%.

Peer median 19.7%

Above peer range

Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Dental, Vision, and Life are not on this filing as their own contracts, so there is no peer rate to show for them.

Where the $45,375 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

DentalOther

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers.

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Year:

The 2025 filing is on file and its figures are shown as filed, but most employers have not filed 2025 yet, so it is not compared with peers. The analysis year is 2024, the latest year that is complete and benchmarked.

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Analysis year 2024 — the same year as the headline figure and per-participant rate above. The 2025 filing is on file and its figures are shown as filed, but most employers have not filed 2025 yet, so it is not compared with peers.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
Voluntary / worksite (basic)multi-product: accident + critical illness + hospital indemnity + cancerColonial Life & Accident Insurance Company39.0%3,165 peer contracts — p25 14.4% · median 19.7% · p75 25.2%. This contract: 39.0%.med 19.7%Above peer range
Voluntary / worksite (AD&D/ SUPPLEMENTAL LIFE/ SUPPLEMENTAL AD&D)American United Life Insurance CompanyNot comparableCommission is above 100% of the premium on this contractCommission is above 100% of the premium on this contract
How the peer group for each line was built
  • Voluntary / worksite: n=3,165 contracts, Southeast, 101-500 covered lives
  • Voluntary / worksite: n=1,103 contracts, Southeast, 501-2500 covered lives

n = the number of peer contracts in that comparison group.

Everything in this table is from the 2024 filing. These 2 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on bundled multi-line contracts, contracts with no premium reported, or Schedule C service-provider fees, none of which carry a comparable single-line rate. 2025 is not rated here. Its rows appear in Broker history above as filed — pick 2025 on the year chips there to see them.

Who funds this. Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. A rate on bundled multi-line premium is not comparable to a single-line rate, so bundled contracts are never given a peer position. Not comparable: Commission is above 100% of the premium on this contract

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 502AUDUBON AREA COMMUNITY SERVICES, INC. EMPLOYEE BENEFITS PLAN596 participants (2025)
DentalOtherFully insured · 5 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file5
Lead broker continuityFiled brokername changed
Broker setup10 brokers in 202416 across all years
Peer benchmarkOthern=87 · regional peers

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Other, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Kentucky employer health plans · Other plans in Kentucky · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Analysis year: 2024; newest plan year with a filing on file: 2025. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.