← Back to search

BERGER HEALTH SYSTEM

EIN 31-6400103 · OH · Physician Group / Medical Practice

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed3 brokers of record, 2014–2019As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.
Employer-paid broker pay2019 · analysis: $41,8272018: $42,6812017: $71,7102016: $11,8582015: $2,9732014: $7,3892013: Not reported2012: Not reported2011: Not reported2010: Not reported2009: Not reported2008: Not reported2007: Not reported

427

(latest)

Self-funded

Funding

$41,827

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2019)

$8.16

Self-funded medical. This figure is commissions on the insured ancillary lines (life, disability, dental, vision, stop-loss). A self-funded employer's medical advisor is typically paid a fee outside these filings, so total broker pay is usually higher than the figure shown.

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: the tightest available peer cell for each line. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Dental

3.2%

No peer cell

Long-term disability

5.0%

No peer cell

Life

10.6%

No peer cell

Short-term disability

6.1%

No peer cell

Vision

21.8%

No peer cell

Where the $41,827 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilityApprenticeship / training

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers, including medical (health).

Disclosure opacity

What this filing doesn't show

This filing discloses no compensation on a health or stop-loss contract for 2019 — the plan's largest lines are absent from the public record. That is typical for self-funded plans, not reassuring: 53% of self-funded health plans with 100+ participants disclose the same — nothing (42K plans reviewed, 2024 filings). How we count this. The compensation still exists — under ERISA Section 408(b)(2), it must be disclosed in writing to the plan fiduciary on request.

Get the 408(b)(2) disclosure request letter — a ready-to-send request for the compensation this filing doesn't show. Free with an employer account.

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Medical here is self-funded. The employer pays its own health claims (usually through a TPA), so there's no insurance contract for medical and it never appears on Schedule A. The itemized coverages in this filing are the insured ancillary lines — dental, vision, life, disability. Schedule C captures advisor pay two ways: paid directly from plan assets, or received indirectly from a carrier or vendor in connection with the plan. This plan has no Schedule C on file — so any advisor compensation beyond those ancillary lines isn't captured in this filing.

Year:

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
DentalDelta Dental of Ohio3.2%No peer cellNo peer cell
Long-term disabilityLife Insurance Company of North America5.0%No peer cellNo peer cell
Life · contract FLX968050Life Insurance Company of North AmericaPlan 501 · 427 lives · Life10.6%No peer cellNo peer cell
Short-term disabilityLife Insurance Company of North America6.1%No peer cellNo peer cell
VisionVision Service Plan21.8%No peer cellNo peer cell
Life · contract OK969535Life Insurance Company of North AmericaPlan 501 · 427 lives · Other (ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEM…11.0%No peer cellNo peer cell

Everything in this table is from the 2019 filing. These 6 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on bundled multi-line contracts, contracts with no premium reported, or Schedule C service-provider fees, none of which carry a comparable single-line rate.

No peer cell met the minimum sample size for these lines, so rates are shown without a market position. Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. A rate on bundled multi-line premium is not comparable to a single-line rate, so bundled contracts are never given a peer position.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 501BERGER HEALTH SYSTEM FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN427 participants (2019)
HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilityApprenticeship / trainingSelf-funded · 13 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file6
Lead broker continuityFiled brokername changed
Broker setup2 brokers in 20193 across all years
Most

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Physician Group / Medical Practice, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Ohio employer health plans · Physician Group / Medical Practice plans in Ohio · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Most recent plan year on file: 2019. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.