← Back to search

KSA CONSULTING LLC

EIN 36-4610991 · MI · Ambulatory / Outpatient Care

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed4 brokers of record, 2016–2022As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.

This filing doesn't itemize broker compensation the way most peer employers do. That can be a clean fee arrangement — or pay baked into premium. Peer market rates for similar plans are below.

Employer-paid broker pay2022: Not reported2021 · analysis: Not reported2020: $16,2442019: $8,9972018: $4,1712017: Not reported2016: $978

2022: $45,395 shown as filed, excluded as a likely filing error · 2019: $17,073 shown as filed, excluded as a likely filing error · 2018: $18,465 shown as filed, excluded as a likely filing error · 2017: $24,063 shown as filed, excluded as a likely filing error · 2016: $23,051 shown as filed, excluded as a likely filing error

Benchmarked against: Ambulatory / Outpatient Care · 1–100 employees · same industry, regional · n=29 employers

Your exact in-state peer group was below the 10-plan minimum, so the comparison broadens to same industry, regional within Ambulatory / Outpatient Care.

9

(2021)

Self-funded

Funding

Voluntary only

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2021)

—

Lines disclosed: Dental · Vision

Broker pay as a share of insured premium: 0.0% (peer median 0.0%, 1st percentile).

Without the 9 low-disclosure peers, this plan is the lowest disclosed broker pay among 20 comparable plans (your plan plus 19 peers).

Employer-paid $0 benchmarked for 2021 · Voluntary $14,984 shown separately, compared by rate only · $24,617 shown as filed, excluded as a likely filing error

Why excluded?

1 broker compensation line totaling $24,617 on the Form 5500 appears to be filing errors (a commission above 100% of the premium reported on that contract, or pay above $200 per participant per month or $50,000,000 on one line). We verified these amounts against the DOL EFAST publication — they are as filed by the plan sponsor, not an Unbrokered ingest error. Those lines are shown as filed and excluded from peer benchmarks and headline PEPM.

Showing 2021, the latest year with a complete peer group. A 2022 filing is on file and appears in broker history; it is not benchmarked yet.

Why 2021?

The figures above use 2021, the latest year we can compare with similar employers. A filing for 2022 is on file. 2022 reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000. That is too small to compare with other employers. 2022 broker pay on file so far totals $3,964 across all lines, about 74% less than the $14,984 for 2021. Rows for 2022 stay in the broker history and stay out of the headline and the peer comparison.

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: same region, similar covered lives. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Voluntary / worksite

16.8%

1,951 peer contracts — p25 11.7% · median 16.8% · p75 22.5%. This contract: 16.8%.

Peer median 16.8%

Within peer range

Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Dental and Vision are filed only inside a bundled multi-line contract, so there is no single-line rate to compare. The bundle's effective rate is in the table below.

Life is not on this filing as its own contract, so there is no peer rate to show for it.

Where the $14,984 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityOther

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers, including medical (health).

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Year:

The 2022 filing reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000. The analysis year is 2021, the latest year that is complete and benchmarked.

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Analysis year 2021 — the same year as the headline figure and per-participant rate above. The 2022 filing reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
Voluntary / worksitefiled as “Life, Other (AD&D/ ACCIDENT)”Hartford Life and Accident16.8%1,951 peer contracts — p25 11.7% · median 16.8% · p75 22.5%. This contract: 16.8%.med 16.8%Within peer range

Bundled and other contracts — no single-line peer comparison

A bundled contract covers two or more lines on one premium (for example Health + Dental). Its effective rate is the commission on the whole premium; it is shown for completeness and never compared with single-line peers, because the mix of lines inside the bundle sets the rate as much as the broker does.

CoversContractEffective ratevs. peers
Medical + Dental + VisionAetna Life Insurance Co.Plan 5011.0%Bundled; no single-line peer
How the peer group for each line was built
  • Voluntary / worksite: n=1,951 contracts, Midwest, 101-500 covered lives

n = the number of peer contracts in that comparison group.

Everything in this table is from the 2021 filing. These 2 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on contracts with no premium reported or on Schedule C service-provider fees, which carry no contract rate. 2022 is not rated here. Its rows appear in Broker history above as filed — pick 2022 on the year chips there to see them.

Who funds this. Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. Contracts under $10,000 in premium are listed for completeness, with no rate or peer position.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 501KSA CONSULTING LLC HEALTH AND WELFARE PLAN8 participants (2022)
HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityOtherSelf-funded · 7 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file7
Lead broker continuityFiled brokername changed
Broker setup3 brokers in 20214 across all years
Peer benchmarkAmbulatory / Outpatient Caren=29 · regional peers

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Ambulatory / Outpatient Care, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Michigan employer health plans · Ambulatory / Outpatient Care plans in Michigan · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Analysis year: 2021; newest plan year with a filing on file: 2022. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.