← Back to search

FIRST CHOICE DENTAL GROUP, S.C.

EIN 39-1861854 · WI · Physician Group / Medical Practice

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed4 brokers of record, 2016–2025As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.
Employer-paid broker pay2025: Not reported2024: Not reported2023: Not reported2022: Not reported2021: Not reported2018: Not reported2017 · analysis: $52,3632016: $44,6662015: Not reported2014: Not reported2013: Not reported2012: Not reported2011: Not reported2010: Not reported2009: Not reported2008: Not reported2007: Not reported2006: Not reported2005: Not reported2004: Not reported2003: Not reported2002: Not reported2001: Not reported

167

(2017)

Self-funded

Funding

$52,363

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2017)

$26.13

2017

Showing 2017, the latest year with a complete peer group. A 2025 filing is on file and appears in broker history; it is not benchmarked yet.

Why 2017?

The figures above use 2017, the latest year we can compare with similar employers. A filing for 2018, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 is on file. Only a smaller plan has filed for 2018 so far. The main plan's filing is not in yet, so that year cannot carry the comparison. Only a smaller plan has filed for 2021 so far. The main plan's filing is not in yet, so that year cannot carry the comparison. Only a smaller plan has filed for 2022 so far. The main plan's filing is not in yet, so that year cannot carry the comparison. Only a smaller plan has filed for 2023 so far. The main plan's filing is not in yet, so that year cannot carry the comparison. Only a smaller plan has filed for 2024 so far. The main plan's filing is not in yet, so that year cannot carry the comparison. Only a smaller plan has filed for 2025 so far. The main plan's filing is not in yet, so that year cannot carry the comparison. Rows for 2018, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025 stay in the broker history and stay out of the headline and the peer comparison.

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: the tightest available peer cell for each line. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Medical

4.8%

No peer cell

Vision

Not comparable

Premium under $10,000 is too small to compare

Life

Not comparable

Premium under $10,000 is too small to compare

Dental is not on this filing as its own contract, so there is no peer rate to show for it.

Where the $52,363 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

Life insurance

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers.

Disclosure opacity

What this filing doesn't show

This filing discloses no compensation on a health or stop-loss contract for 2025 — the plan's largest lines are absent from the public record. That is typical for self-funded plans, not reassuring: 53% of self-funded health plans with 100+ participants disclose the same — nothing (42K plans reviewed, 2024 filings). How we count this. The compensation still exists — under ERISA Section 408(b)(2), it must be disclosed in writing to the plan fiduciary on request.

Get the 408(b)(2) disclosure request letter — a ready-to-send request for the compensation this filing doesn't show. Free with an employer account.

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Year:

The 2025 filings on file so far are from smaller plans; the main plan has not filed 2025 yet. The analysis year is 2017, the latest year that is complete and benchmarked.

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Analysis year 2017 — the same year as the headline figure and per-participant rate above. The 2025 filings on file so far are from smaller plans; the main plan has not filed 2025 yet.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
Medicalfiled as “Health”Group Health Cooperative of South Central Wisconsin4.8%No peer cellNo peer cell

Bundled and other contracts — no single-line peer comparison

A bundled contract covers two or more lines on one premium (for example Health + Dental). Its effective rate is the commission on the whole premium; it is shown for completeness and never compared with single-line peers, because the mix of lines inside the bundle sets the rate as much as the broker does.

CoversContractEffective ratevs. peers
Life + Long-term disabilityHartford Life and AccidentPlan 50215.0%Bundled; no single-line peer
2 contracts under $10,000 in premium — listed for completeness, not compared to peers. Show
  • Vision — Superior Vision Insurance Plan of Wisconsin Inc. — Premium under $10,000 is too small to compare
  • Life — Hartford Life and Accident — Premium under $10,000 is too small to compare

Everything in this table is from the 2017 filing. These 4 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on contracts with no premium reported or on Schedule C service-provider fees, which carry no contract rate. 2025 is not rated here. Its rows appear in Broker history above as filed — pick 2025 on the year chips there to see them.

No peer cell met the minimum sample size for these lines, so rates are shown without a market position. Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. Contracts under $10,000 in premium are listed for completeness, with no rate or peer position.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 503FIRST CHOICE DENTAL GROUP, S.C. DENTAL PLAN276 participants (2025)
Life insuranceSelf-funded · 23 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 502FIRST CHOICE DENTAL GROUP, S.C. WRAP PLAN167 participants (2017)
HealthDentalShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilityApprenticeship / trainingOtherSelf-funded · 2 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file2
Lead broker continuitySame primary broker
Broker setup3 brokers in 20174 across all years
Most

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Physician Group / Medical Practice, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Wisconsin employer health plans · Physician Group / Medical Practice plans in Wisconsin · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Analysis year: 2017; newest plan year with a filing on file: 2025. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.