← Back to search

CSX CORPORATION

EIN 62-1051971 · FL · Transportation & Logistics

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed1 broker of record, 2021–2024As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.
Employer-paid broker pay2024: Not reported2023: Not reported2022 · analysis: $926,3902021: $368,551

Benchmarked against: All industries · 2,501–10,000 employees · all industries at this size, nationwide · n=2,226 employers (your plan plus 2,225 peers)

Fewer than the minimum (10) transportation & logistics employers of this size had broker pay on file, so the comparison widens to all industries at this size. The 2,226 figure is not transportation & logistics companies — it's every sector at your employee-size band, nationwide.

7,160

(2022)

Fully insured

Funding

$926,390

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2022)

$10.78

2022 · 84th pct vs peers · n=2226

Lines disclosed: Vision · Life

Broker pay as a share of insured premium: 18.9% (peer median 6.0%, 95th percentile).

Without the 280 low-disclosure peers, this plan is at the 83rd percentile of 1,946 comparable plans (your plan plus 1,945 peers).

Showing 2022, the latest year with a complete peer group. A 2024 filing is on file and appears in broker history; it is not benchmarked yet.

Why 2022?

The figures above use 2022, the latest year we can compare with similar employers. A filing for 2023–2024 is on file. 2023 reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000. That is too small to compare with other employers. 2024 reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000. That is too small to compare with other employers. Rows for 2023–2024 stay in the broker history and stay out of the headline and the peer comparison.

Self-funded medical. This figure is commissions on the insured ancillary lines (life, disability, dental, vision, stop-loss). A self-funded employer's medical advisor is typically paid a fee outside these filings, so total broker pay is usually higher than the figure shown.

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: same region, similar covered lives. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Life

8.8%

468 peer contracts — p25 2.4% · median 7.3% · p75 12.5%. This contract: 8.8%.

Peer median 7.3%

Within peer range

Vision

5.0%

216 peer contracts — p25 5.0% · median 9.0% · p75 10.6%. This contract: 5.0%.

Peer median 9.0%

Below peer range

Dental is not on this filing as its own contract, so there is no peer rate to show for it.

This page shows what was filed. The report shows what it means.

  • What the gap is worth — the dollar difference vs. peer median, including a 3-year view
  • The current structure compared against levels comparable plans actually reported
  • A committee-ready PDF: full broker breakdown, renewal question set, and disclosure-request letter included

Your full $199 applies toward Renewal Readiness if you upgrade within 60 days.

One-time purchase · 12 months of live access · PDF yours to keep · See a sample report

Researching several companies? Insight Pass — $299 per seat

Broker Compensation Benchmark Report

Peer distributions · dollar quantification · 3-year trajectory · modeled alternatives

SAMPLE

Where the $926,390 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

HealthDentalSeveranceLong-term disabilityLife insuranceShort-term disability

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers, including medical (health).

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Medical here is self-funded. The employer pays its own health claims (usually through a TPA), so there's no insurance contract for medical and it never appears on Schedule A. The itemized coverages in this filing are the insured ancillary lines — dental, vision, life, disability. Schedule C captures advisor pay two ways: paid directly from plan assets, or received indirectly from a carrier or vendor in connection with the plan. This plan has no Schedule C on file — so any advisor compensation beyond those ancillary lines isn't captured in this filing.

Year:

The 2024 filing reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000. The analysis year is 2022, the latest year that is complete and benchmarked.

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Analysis year 2022 — the same year as the headline figure and per-participant rate above. The 2024 filing reports only a token amount of broker pay, under $5,000.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
Life · contract 143380Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 503 · 4,832 lives · Life8.8%468 peer contracts — p25 2.4% · median 7.3% · p75 12.5%. This contract: 8.8%.med 7.3%Within peer range
Vision ($0 premium)UnitedHealthcare Insurance CompanyPlan 504 · 2,965 lives · Vision5.0%216 peer contracts — p25 5.0% · median 9.0% · p75 10.6%. This contract: 5.0%.med 9.0%Below peer range
Vision ($0 premium)UnitedHealthcare Insurance CompanyPlan 519 · 1,709 lives · Vision5.0%1,031 peer contracts — p25 5.4% · median 9.9% · p75 10.7%. This contract: 5.0%.med 9.9%Below peer range
Life · contract 143384Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 503 · 6,341 lives · Other (ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISMEM…16.6%468 peer contracts — p25 2.4% · median 7.3% · p75 12.5%. This contract: 16.6%.med 7.3%Above peer range
Life · contract 143383Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 503 · 5,211 lives · Life17.0%468 peer contracts — p25 2.4% · median 7.3% · p75 12.5%. This contract: 17.0%.med 7.3%Above peer range

Bundled and other contracts — no single-line peer comparison

A bundled contract covers two or more lines on one premium (for example Health + Dental). Its effective rate is the commission on the whole premium; it is shown for completeness and never compared with single-line peers, because the mix of lines inside the bundle sets the rate as much as the broker does.

CoversContractEffective ratevs. peers
Other benefitOther benefitAetna Life Insurance Co.Plan 503Not comparableNo comparable lineRate is above 40% of premium on a core line, or 100% on a voluntary line
How the peer group for each line was built
  • Life: n=468 contracts, Southeast, 2501-10000 covered lives
  • Vision: n=216 contracts, Southeast, 2501-10000 covered lives
  • Vision: n=1,031 contracts, Southeast, 501-2500 covered lives

n = the number of peer contracts in that comparison group.

Everything in this table is from the 2022 filing. These 6 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on contracts with no premium reported or on Schedule C service-provider fees, which carry no contract rate. 2024 is not rated here. Its rows appear in Broker history above as filed — pick 2024 on the year chips there to see them.

Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. Contracts under $10,000 in premium are listed for completeness, with no rate or peer position.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 503CSX CORPORATION GROUP LIFE, ACCIDENT AND VOLUNTARY BENEFITS PLAN8.3K participants (2024)
HealthDentalSeveranceFully insured · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 518CSX SHORT TERM DISABILITY PLAN3.7K participants (2024)
Long-term disabilitySelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 504CSX CORPORATION MEDICAL, DENTAL, AND VISION PLAN3.2K participants (2024)
HealthLife insuranceShort-term disabilitySelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 519CSX HEALTH PLAN FOR CERTAIN ACTIVE UNION EMPLOYEES1K participants (2024)
HealthLife insuranceShort-term disabilitySelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 508CSX CORPORATION CAFETERIA BENEFITS PLAN182 participants (2024)
HealthSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 507CSX CORPORATION RETIRED AND DISABLED EMPLOYEE MEDICAL, DENTAL, AND PRESCRIPTION DRUG PLAN0 participants (2024)
HealthLife insuranceSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file3
Lead broker continuitySame primary broker
Most
Peer benchmarkAll Industriesn=2226 · all industries, your size

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Transportation & Logistics, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Florida employer health plans · Transportation & Logistics plans in Florida · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Analysis year: 2022; newest plan year with a filing on file: 2024. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.