← Back to search

UNUM GROUP

EIN 62-1598430 · ME · Insurance / Financial Services

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed158 brokers of record, 2021–2024As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.

This filing doesn't itemize broker compensation the way most peer employers do. That can be a clean fee arrangement — or pay baked into premium. Peer market rates for similar plans are below.

Employer-paid broker pay2024 · analysis: Not reported2023: Not reported2022: Not reported2021: Not reported

Benchmarked against: Insurance / Financial Services · 2,501–10,000 employees · same industry, regional · n=48 employers

Peer disclosed broker cost: median $5.03 per participant per month · typical range $2.42–$7.04. This company's filings did not itemize an amount to place on that scale.

Your exact in-state peer group was below the 10-plan minimum, so the comparison broadens to same industry, regional within Insurance / Financial Services.

9,425

(latest)

Self-funded

Funding

Voluntary only

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2024)

—

Peer median $5.03 per participant per month

Employer-paid $0 benchmarked for 2024 · Voluntary $49,402 shown separately, compared by rate only

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: same region, similar covered lives. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Voluntary / worksite

Not comparable

Premium under $10,000 is too small to compare

Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Life is filed only inside a bundled multi-line contract, so there is no single-line rate to compare. The bundle's effective rate is in the table below.

Dental and Vision are not on this filing as their own contracts, so there is no peer rate to show for them.

Where the $49,402 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilityApprenticeship / trainingScholarshipOtherSeverance

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers, including medical (health).

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Year:

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition

Bundled and other contracts — no single-line peer comparison

A bundled contract covers two or more lines on one premium (for example Health + Dental). Its effective rate is the commission on the whole premium; it is shown for completeness and never compared with single-line peers, because the mix of lines inside the bundle sets the rate as much as the broker does.

CoversContractEffective ratevs. peers
Life + Short-term disabilityColonial Life & Accident Insurance CompanyPlan 5055.0%Bundled; no single-line peer
1 contract under $10,000 in premium — listed for completeness, not compared to peers. Show
  • Voluntary / worksite — The Paul Revere Life Insurance Company — Premium under $10,000 is too small to compare
How the peer group for each line was built
  • Voluntary / worksite: n=1,587 contracts, Northeast, 1-100 covered lives

n = the number of peer contracts in that comparison group.

Everything in this table is from the 2024 filing. These 2 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on contracts with no premium reported or on Schedule C service-provider fees, which carry no contract rate.

Who funds this. Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. Contracts under $10,000 in premium are listed for completeness, with no rate or peer position.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 505UNUM GROUP WELFARE BENEFITS PLAN9.4K participants (2024)
HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilityApprenticeship / trainingScholarshipOtherSeveranceSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 510UNUM GROUP EMPLOYEES SHORT TERM DISABILITY PLAN9.2K participants (2024)
Long-term disabilitySelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 514UNUM GROUP RETIREE BENEFITS PLAN0 participants (2024)
HealthDentalLife insuranceSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 517UNUM GROUP ACCIDENT0 participants (2021)
OtherFully insured

Loading contracts…

PN 512UNUM GROUP LONG TERM CARE PLAN0 participants (2021)
OtherFully insured

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file4
Lead broker continuitySame primary broker
Broker setup99 brokers in 2024158 across all years
Peer benchmarkInsurance / Financial Servicesn=48 · regional peers

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Insurance / Financial Services, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Maine employer health plans · Insurance / Financial Services plans in Maine · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Most recent plan year on file: 2024. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.