← Back to search

CASCADE UTILITIES, INC.

EIN 93-0163010 · OR · Other

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed33 brokers of record, 2020–2024As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.

This filing doesn't itemize broker compensation the way most peer employers do. That can be a clean fee arrangement — or pay baked into premium. Peer market rates for similar plans are below.

Employer-paid broker pay2024 · analysis: Not reported2023: Not reported2022: Not reported2021: Not reported2020: Not reported

Benchmarked against: Other · 101–500 employees · same industry, in-state · n=75 employers

Peer disclosed broker cost: median $16.76 per participant per month · typical range $5.37–$28.78. This company's filings did not itemize an amount to place on that scale.

334

(latest)

Self-funded

Funding

Voluntary only

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2024)

—

Peer median $16.76 per participant per month

Employer-paid $0 benchmarked for 2024 · Voluntary $76,794 shown separately, compared by rate only

Where the $76,794 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disability

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers, including medical (health).

Disclosure opacity

What this filing doesn't show

This filing discloses no compensation on a health or stop-loss contract for 2024 — the plan's largest lines are absent from the public record. That is typical for self-funded plans, not reassuring: 53% of self-funded health plans with 100+ participants disclose the same — nothing (42K plans reviewed, 2024 filings). How we count this. The compensation still exists — under ERISA Section 408(b)(2), it must be disclosed in writing to the plan fiduciary on request.

Get the 408(b)(2) disclosure request letter — a ready-to-send request for the compensation this filing doesn't show. Free with an employer account.

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Medical here is self-funded. The employer pays its own health claims (usually through a TPA), so there's no insurance contract for medical and it never appears on Schedule A. The itemized coverages in this filing are the insured ancillary lines — dental, vision, life, disability. Schedule C captures advisor pay two ways: paid directly from plan assets, or received indirectly from a carrier or vendor in connection with the plan. This plan has no Schedule C on file — so any advisor compensation beyond those ancillary lines isn't captured in this filing.

Year:

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition

Bundled and other contracts — no single-line peer comparison

A bundled contract covers two or more lines on one premium (for example Health + Dental). Its effective rate is the commission on the whole premium; it is shown for completeness and never compared with single-line peers, because the mix of lines inside the bundle sets the rate as much as the broker does.

CoversContractEffective ratevs. peers
Life + Short-term disabilityColonial Life and Accident Insurance CompanyPlan 50122.0%Bundled; no single-line peer
Life + Short-term disabilityColonial Life and Accident Insurance CompanyPlan 50119.5%Bundled; no single-line peer
Life + Short-term disabilityColonial Life and Accident Insurance CompanyPlan 50123.6%Bundled; no single-line peer

Everything in this table is from the 2024 filing. These 3 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on contracts with no premium reported or on Schedule C service-provider fees, which carry no contract rate.

No peer cell met the minimum sample size for these lines, so rates are shown without a market position. Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. Contracts under $10,000 in premium are listed for completeness, with no rate or peer position.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 501CASCADE UTILITIES, INC. AND AFFILIATES EMPLOYEE BENEFIT PLAN334 participants (2024)
HealthDentalLife insuranceShort-term disabilityLong-term disabilitySelf-funded · 5 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file5
Lead broker continuityFiled brokername changed
Broker setup7 brokers in 202433 across all years
Peer benchmarkOthern=75 · state peers

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Other, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Oregon employer health plans · Other plans in Oregon · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Most recent plan year on file: 2024. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.