← Back to search

B S K ASSOCIATES

EIN 94-1633676 · CA · Professional Services

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed2 brokers of record, 2023–2024As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.
Employer-paid broker pay2024 · analysis: $2582023: $2132022: Not reported2021: Not reported

239

(latest)

Fully insured

Funding

$258

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2024)

$0.09

23rd pct vs peers

Lines disclosed: Dental · Vision · Life · Long-term disability

Broker pay as a share of insured premium: 6.4% (peer median 6.2%, 56th percentile).

Without the 33 low-disclosure peers, this plan is at the 15th percentile of 241 comparable plans (your plan plus 240 peers).

Per-participant and share-of-premium comparisons differ because your plan insures fewer lines than most peers. The line-by-line rates below are the most direct comparison.

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: same region, similar covered lives. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Vision

1.7%

2,093 peer contracts — p25 4.8% · median 6.3% · p75 10.0%. This contract: 1.7%.

Peer median 6.3%

No commission on this contract

Dental and Life are not on this filing as their own contracts, so there is no peer rate to show for them.

Where the $258 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

Short-term disability

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers.

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Year:

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
VisionHub International1.7%2,093 peer contracts — p25 4.8% · median 6.3% · p75 10.0%. This contract: 1.7%.med 6.3%No commission on this contract
How the peer group for each line was built
  • Vision: n=2,093 contracts, West, 101-500 covered lives

n = the number of peer contracts in that comparison group.

Everything in this table is from the 2024 filing. This contract is a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on bundled multi-line contracts, contracts with no premium reported, or Schedule C service-provider fees, none of which carry a comparable single-line rate.

Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. A rate on bundled multi-line premium is not comparable to a single-line rate, so bundled contracts are never given a peer position. A near-zero rate on a large premium usually means the broker is paid elsewhere (through a bundled contract, a Schedule C fee, or commission on other lines), so no market position is shown for that contract.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 502B S K ASSOCIATES VISION PLAN239 participants (2024)
Short-term disabilityFully insured · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file2
Lead broker continuityFiled brokername changed
Most

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Professional Services, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: California employer health plans · Professional Services plans in California · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Most recent plan year on file: 2024. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.