← Back to search

FORD MOTOR COMPANY

EIN 38-0549190 · MI · Manufacturing — Heavy

Look up on EFAST ↗
Compensation disclosed2 brokers of record, 2021–2024As reported on Form 5500 (Schedules A and C), U.S. Department of Labor.
Employer-paid broker pay2024 · analysis: $920,9372023: $369,9152022: $361,9322021: $356,2282018: Not reported2017: Not reported2016: Not reported2015: Not reported2014: Not reported

Benchmarked against: All industries · 50,000+ employees · all industries at this size, nationwide · n=115 employers (your plan plus 114 peers)

Fewer than the minimum (10) manufacturing — heavy employers of this size had broker pay on file, so the comparison widens to all industries at this size. The 115 figure is not manufacturing — heavy companies — it's every sector at your employee-size band, nationwide.

56,567

(latest)

Self-funded

Funding

$920,937

Broker pay, employer-paid lines (2024)

$1.36

66th pct vs peers · n=115

Lines disclosed: Life · Low disclosure

Broker pay as a share of insured premium: 0.4% (peer median 2.1%, 2nd percentile).

Without the 28 low-disclosure peers, this plan is at the 59th percentile of 87 comparable plans (your plan plus 86 peers).

Per-participant and share-of-premium comparisons differ because your plan insures fewer lines than most peers. The line-by-line rates below are the most direct comparison.

Employer-paid $920,937 benchmarked for 2024 · Voluntary $35,306 shown separately, compared by rate only

Broker commission rate by benefit line

What the broker earns on each insured line, as a share of that line's own premium — not a share of total broker pay, and not what the coverage cost. Peers for these tiles: same region, similar covered lives. Full table below. How the national rates are built.

Life

0.3%

26 peer contracts — p25 1.7% · median 2.4% · p75 4.8%. This contract: 0.3%.

Peer median 2.4%

No commission on this contract

Medical

1.4%

736 peer contracts — p25 1.5% · median 2.6% · p75 4.0%. This contract: 1.4%.

Peer median 2.6%

Below peer range

Voluntary / worksite

1.5%

32 peer contracts — p25 4.9% · median 9.9% · p75 14.3%. This contract: 1.5%.

Peer median 9.9%

Below peer range

Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Dental and Vision are not on this filing as their own contracts, so there is no peer rate to show for them.

This page shows what was filed. The report shows what it means.

  • What the gap is worth — the dollar difference vs. peer median, including a 3-year view
  • The current structure compared against levels comparable plans actually reported
  • A committee-ready PDF: full broker breakdown, renewal question set, and disclosure-request letter included

Your full $199 applies toward Renewal Readiness if you upgrade within 60 days.

One-time purchase · 12 months of live access · PDF yours to keep · See a sample report

Researching several companies? Insight Pass — $299 per seat

Broker Compensation Benchmark Report

Peer distributions · dollar quantification · 3-year trajectory · modeled alternatives

SAMPLE

Where the $956,243 across all lines goes

Each broker and each benefit line, in dollars

How much broker pay rides inside the premium

Base commission against bonuses and other carrier payments, all funded through premium

Whether this number is drifting

Compensation across every filed year, against the peer median

A screenshot isn't a record. Get the dated report for your file.

Line-item breakdown, multi-year trend, and methodology-backed framing — ready for fiduciary oversight and recordkeeping.

Or, if this is your company, share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the dated report PDF stays a separate purchase.

Benefits covered (latest filing)

DentalLong-term disabilityOtherHealthLife insuranceShort-term disabilityVisionStop-loss

From the Form 5500 welfare benefit codes — the authoritative list of what the plan covers, including medical (health).

Broker history

Benefit lines covered by year — broker identity limited on public pages

Year:

Broker identity on this page is limited for public viewers. Sign in with your work email or share your plan basics for the full breakdown on your company.

Commission rates by benefit line

Each insured contract on the filing, with the broker's commission as a share of that contract's own premium. Premium is what was paid to the carrier for the coverage; only the commission column is broker pay.

Benefit lineContractRatevs. peersPosition
Life ($0 premium)Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 521 · 159,586 lives · Life, Other (ADD)0.3%26 peer contracts — p25 1.7% · median 2.4% · p75 4.8%. This contract: 0.3%.med 2.4%No commission on this contract
Life ($0 premium)Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 550 · 100,270 lives · Life, Other (AD&D)0.4%26 peer contracts — p25 1.7% · median 2.4% · p75 4.8%. This contract: 0.4%.med 2.4%No commission on this contract
Life ($0 premium)Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 551 · 5,621 lives · Life, Other (AD&D)0.4%383 peer contracts — p25 2.3% · median 6.0% · p75 11.4%. This contract: 0.4%.med 6.0%No commission on this contract
Medicalfiled as “Health”UnitedHealthcare Insurance Company1.4%736 peer contracts — p25 1.5% · median 2.6% · p75 4.0%. This contract: 1.4%.med 2.6%Below peer range
Voluntary / worksite ($0 premium)Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 550 · 37,897 lives · Life, Other (VOLUNTARY AD&D)1.5%32 peer contracts — p25 4.9% · median 9.9% · p75 14.3%. This contract: 1.5%.med 9.9%Below peer range
Voluntary / worksite ($0 premium)Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 551 · 2,583 lives · Life, Other (VOLUNTARY AD&D)1.5%219 peer contracts — p25 11.7% · median 20.0% · p75 27.7%. This contract: 1.5%.med 20.0%Below peer range
Life ($0 premium)Metropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 551 · 1,713 lives · Life, Other (AD&D)1.8%1,131 peer contracts — p25 5.0% · median 10.9% · p75 16.0%. This contract: 1.8%.med 10.9%Below peer range

Bundled and other contracts — no single-line peer comparison

A bundled contract covers two or more lines on one premium (for example Health + Dental). Its effective rate is the commission on the whole premium; it is shown for completeness and never compared with single-line peers, because the mix of lines inside the bundle sets the rate as much as the broker does.

CoversContractEffective ratevs. peers
Other benefitADDMetropolitan Life Insurance CompanyPlan 5211.7%No comparable line
1 contract under $10,000 in premium — listed for completeness, not compared to peers. Show
  • Life — Metropolitan Life Insurance Company — Premium under $10,000 is too small to compare
How the peer group for each line was built
  • Life: n=26 contracts, Midwest, 50000+ covered lives
  • Life: n=383 contracts, Midwest, 2501-10000 covered lives
  • Medical: n=736 contracts, Midwest, 501-2500 covered lives
  • Voluntary / worksite: n=32 contracts, Midwest, 10001-50000 covered lives
  • Voluntary / worksite: n=219 contracts, Midwest, 2501-10000 covered lives
  • Life: n=1,131 contracts, Midwest, 501-2500 covered lives
  • Life: n=678 contracts, Midwest, 1-100 covered lives

n = the number of peer contracts in that comparison group.

Everything in this table is from the 2024 filing. These 9 contracts are a subset of the broker compensation disclosed for that year. The remainder sits on contracts with no premium reported or on Schedule C service-provider fees, which carry no contract rate.

Who funds this. Voluntary / worksite premium is typically paid by employees through payroll deduction, so commission on those lines comes out of employee money rather than company money.

Peer comparison here is contract-level: each line is matched to single-line contracts covering a similar number of lives. The geography and size band come from that cell's generated scope label. That is a different group from the plan-level peer set, which compares employers on total broker cost per employee, so the two sample sizes are not expected to agree. The national table on the research page includes every single-line contract on that benefit line. Company pages use the tightest cell with at least 10 contracts — region and size when those exist, otherwise national. The two medians answer different questions, so they are not expected to match. Contracts under $10,000 in premium are listed for completeness, with no rate or peer position. A near-zero rate on a large premium usually means the broker is paid elsewhere (through a bundled contract, a Schedule C fee, or commission on other lines), so no market position is shown for that contract.

Plans on file

Expand a plan to see its insured contracts and year-over-year history — the details someone on the plan can recognize and verify.

PN 521GROUP LIFE AND DISABILITY INSURANCE PROGRAM160K participants (2024)
DentalLong-term disabilityOtherSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 594FORD MOTOR COMPANY - EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PLAN FOR HOURLY EMPLOYEES58K participants (2024)
OtherFully insured · 9 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 520FORD - UAW HOSPITAL-SURGICAL-MEDICAL-DRUG-DENTAL-VISION PROGRAM FOR HOURLY EMPLOYEES57K participants (2024)
HealthLife insuranceShort-term disabilityOtherSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 503FORD - UAW SUPPLEMENTAL UNEMPLOYMENT BENEFIT PLAN57K participants (2024)
VisionSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 595FORD MOTOR COMPANY - EMPLOYEE ASSISTANCE PLAN FOR SALARIED EMPLOYEES33K participants (2024)
OtherSelf-funded · 9 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 550FORD MOTOR COMPANY LIFE AND ACCIDENTAL DEATH AND DISABILITY PLAN31K participants (2024)
DentalLong-term disabilityOtherFully insured · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 560HEALTHCARE PLAN FOR SALARIED EMPLOYEES29K participants (2024)
HealthSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 562FORD DENTAL PLAN28K participants (2024)
Life insuranceFully insured · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 547FORD MOTOR COMPANY SALARIED VISION PLAN24K participants (2024)
Short-term disabilityFully insured · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 543FLEXIBLE BENEFITS PLAN OF FORD MOTOR COMPANY2.1K participants (2024)
HealthSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 551FORD MOTOR COMPANY LIFE & ACCIDENTAL DEATH & DISMEMBERMENT PLAN LL 1 - 41.2K participants (2024)
DentalOtherFully insured · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 561FORD MOTOR INTERNATIONAL SERVICE EMPLOYEES HEALTH INSURANCE211 participants (2024)
HealthStop-lossFully insured

Loading contracts…

PN 564FORD MOTOR COMPANY HEALTH REIMBURSEMENT ARRANGEMENT PLAN FOR PRE-MEDICARE RETIREES0 participants (2024)
HealthSelf-funded · 3 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 563FORD MOTOR COMPANY HEALTH REIMBURSEMENT ARRANGEMENT PLAN0 participants (2024)
HealthSelf-funded · 4 years on file

Loading contracts…

PN 565SALARIED HEALTH REIMBURSEMENT ARRANGEMENT0 participants (2024)
HealthSelf-funded

Loading contracts…

Covers = benefits reported on the Form 5500 (welfare benefit codes). Contracts = insured lines itemized on Schedule A; a self-funded medical line never appears there.

At a glance

Primary brokerLimited on public pages
Years on file4
Lead broker continuityFiled brokername changed
Most
Peer benchmarkAll Industriesn=115 · all industries, your size

Is this your company?

The Broker Compensation Benchmark Report is the dated, sourced PDF for your fiduciary file — line-item breakdown, interpretation, methodology, and 12 months of live access. Unbrokered does not provide legal advice.

Or share your plan basics to unlock your company’s full detail — the report PDF itself is a separate purchase.

How do similar employers compare?

Employers in the same peer group (Manufacturing — Heavy, similar size), from public Form 5500 filings. Open one to see what it pays its broker.

Browse more: Michigan employer health plans · Manufacturing — Heavy plans in Michigan · all states

Sourced from Form 5500 filings as submitted to the U.S. Department of Labor. Most recent plan year on file: 2024. Dataset refreshed October 7, 2026. Plan years are labeled by the year they begin, so a July 2024 – June 2025 plan year is 2024. Filings may lag 12–18 months behind the current plan year.

Report a data discrepancy

Unbrokered reports data as filed with the DOL. If you believe a figure is incorrect, tell us what it should be. We respond within 2 business days and, where the underlying filing has been amended, update on our next data refresh. We don't remove publicly filed information on request, but we do correct genuine errors.